Even after the professional baseball umpire made a 4-sim consensus decision, it caused controversy by incorrectly applying the baseball rules. The KBO (Korea Baseball Organization) immediately acknowledged the mistake and announced disciplinary action against the referee.

The scene in question came out at the LG-Hanwha exhibition in Jamsil on the 20th. At the end of the ninth inning, when both teams faced off 1-1, Jung Joo-hyun stepped into the plate with LG attacking and first base unharmed. LG tried to send first base runner Shin Min-jae to second base, and Hanwha Battery tried to prevent it. Hanwha Battery tried to pitch out (intentionally throwing the ball out of the strike zone) to catch a runner, and Jung Joo-hyun, who was in a bunt stance, threw a bat at the ball to block it. The bat hit Hanwha catcher Choi Jae-hoon’s mitt and stomach, and Choi Jae-hoon collapsed on the spot complaining of pain.

The batter’s defensive interference should have been declared. The KBO baseball rules state, “If the batter hits the catcher (including the mitt) by throwing the bat into fair or foul territory with a third strike pitch or runners present, the batter is out for a foul play.” However, the referee declared that the catcher would interfere with the hit even after all four gathered and discussed the scene for about three minutes. If the bat collides with the catcher’s mitt or body while it is in the batter’s hand, the catcher’s hitting interference can be established, but the batter threw the bat at the time. In the end, the runner’s advance was not recognized and the batter was out, so the situation where one company should have been 1st base became 1st and 2nd base safely. KBS N commentator Ryu Ji-hyeon (former LG coach), who was broadcasting the game, said, “It’s a difficult decision to understand.”

Hanwha coach Choi Won-ho immediately protested, but the decision was not overturned. Since Hanwha did not concede, it did not spread to a bigger problem, but the KBO immediately acknowledged the mistake. The KBO said, “As a result of additional confirmation by the referee committee, it was a situation that should have been judged as defensive interference, not hitting interference.” Coach Won-ho Choi said, “In that situation, the only thing we could do was to withdraw the team, so we were worried for a moment, but we decided not to do that because of the spectators.”카지노사이트

On the 7th of last month, in the game between Sajik Lotte and KT, Lotte misinterpreted the rule about when the ball hit the referee’s body and gave a score that Lotte did not have to give. At the beginning of the 4th inning, when KT attacked, the batted ball hit the second base from the 2nd base, 1st and 3rd base. did. The KBO later acknowledged the mistake and issued a 2nd division demotion and fined disciplinary action against the referee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *